top of page
  • Writer's pictureMazee Palmero

Quick & Easy Chili



I'm a Texan, I absolutely LOVE chili! There was nothing better than coming home from school on a colder day, to smell my moms chili slow cooking on the stove for dinner that night. Chili became a meal for great occasion for me as I got older. Chili can be made in such big portions, if we had get togethers or relatives in town, my mom would toss together a pot of chili for everyone to devour. In high school, when we had big meetings for my extra curricular activities, they would serve chili and cinnamon rolls (its a weird Kansas thing, I can't stand the sweet and savory combination). Chili can be used in so many different ways too! Of course you can have just a bowl of chili with all the fixings, cheese, sour cream, crackers ad hot sauce, but you can take your left over chili and make chili dogs, twice baked chili baked potatoes, or Frito pies.


I mention the slow cooking earlier because you can put everything in the pot and let it go on low for a few hours, allowing all the spices, and flavors to marry, or you can toss everything in, let it cook for an hour on medium high heat and serve it up. Time and preference allows you to make that decision. For the purpose of this article post, I'll be talking about the quicker version of the recipe, using a chili kit, and higher heat.


Here is a link to my favorite chili kit on Amazon. It can be found at Walmart, Dillons, Kroger, and Target.



If you're new to the chili world or looking for ways to spice your chili up, try topping your bowl off with a hand full of cheddar cheese, sour cream, green onions, crushed crackers and a few splashes of your favorite hot sauce.

Here's a link to my favorite hot sauce:


Chili is a great meal for left overs. You can make a large pot, then use the leftovers in lots of different ways. You can also make a large pot, let the left overs cool, then put it in freezer bags. Freeze it flat in the freezer so it takes up the least amount of space. When you're ready to eat it again, defrost it in the sink, then add it back to the pot, cover and heat, then enjoy!



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page