top of page
  • Writer's pictureMazee Palmero

Pot Roast Sandwiches



My first job was at a little restaurant in Chapman, Kansas called Southern Comfort Café. They served a small menu of comfort foods that I was glad to eat every night I worked. On that menu was "Hot Beef Sandwich With Mash Potatoes". If you were to order this, you'd get a thick piece of Texas Toast, buttered and browned on the grill, covered in a hearty amount of pot roast, and gravy, with a side of mashed potatoes. I'm not a huge fan of pot roast, but I often crave the Southern Comfort Pot Roast Sandwich.

As I'm nearing the end of my pregnancy, I've been taking the time to listen to my cravings as much as possible. Lately its been all fat, makes sense as the baby is packing on as much weight as possible in these last few weeks. But the other day, I woke up and could not stop thinking about a pot roast sandwich! So I loaded the kids into the car and went to the store to shop for everything I'd need to make a delicious sandwich.

Pot roast are tricky to pick out. I wanted the smallest roast I could find, but I wanted to find a cut that would be the least tough and dry. Roast come from a few places on the cow. The legs, shoulders, round, brisket, etc.. Meat is muscular, as the cow moves, it works the meat. If you choose a roast from the legs of the cow, generally, they will be drier and tougher, than the round, chuck or butt.

My suggestion is to chose one of these cuts for a better roast:

  • Bottom Round Roast

  • Top Round Roast

  • Eye of Round Roast

  • Center Cut Sirloin Roast

  • Chuck Arm Roast

Moving to the brown gravy mix; I generally don't like to use gravy mixes in my cooking. That being said, using the brown gravy mix in the initial cooking, furthers the flavor of the roast and makes it so much better. Then once you add the remaining mix to the gravy, it thickens the gravy for a better sandwich dipping consistency.

I used the McCormick Low Sodium Brown Gravy Mix.

Here's a link to the mix I used on Amazon:

https://amzn.to/3Auui31


The best part of this roast, is its versatile. It takes good on rolls, potatoes, pasta, whatever you want! The roast world is your oyster!

For my Irish husband, I served mashed potatoes on the side of our sandwiches. It is so good taking a big scoop of mashed potatoes, spreading it on the sandwich, and dipping it in the gravy... amazing!

Other sides I'd suggest:

  • Fries/ Tater Tots

  • Mashed Potatoes

  • Butter Noodles

  • Salad

  • Country Green Beans

  • Mixed Vegetables


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page