top of page
  • Writer's pictureMazee Palmero

Family Famous Shredded Pork Tacos

This has to be the all time favorite in my house! Shredded pork tacos are made with every occasion because they're simple, delicious, and super filling.

In this post, you'll get the recipe for the pork, and I'll include a link for making Pico De Gallo.

The pork taco meat can be used all the same ways you would use regular ground beef taco meat. I enjoy making burrito bowls, fried rolled tacos, and breakfast quesadillas with the meat. Our go to way to devour this meal, is to fry up some corn tortillas to a nice crunch, then load the shells with sour cream, meat, cheese and Pico De Gallo. When my husband tries to show off my cooking skills to his family and friends, I make a big pot of meat, and load plates of tacos up for everyone to inhale.

When I make tacos with this meat, I use corn tortillas. I heat some olive oil in a skillet, and get a nice crisp on both sides of the shell. after frying, transfer to a plate covered in paper towels to allow some of the oil to drain off. sprinkle with salt, then fill as desired.

When I want to make a rolled taco or taquito, I use flour tortillas because you can get them bigger and they're structurally stronger than a corn tortilla. For a rolled taco or taquito, heat some olive oil in a skillet. While that's heating, lay out a flour tortilla, lay a small amount of meat off centered in the tortilla. Add any other fillings you desire in small amounts. I keep it simple with meat and cheese. Roll the tortilla up tightly around the filling. With the opening of the tortilla down, lay the taco in the skillet and allow it to get golden brown. It should take just a couple minutes. Roll it over and allow it to fry on the other side. Once all sides are a nice golden brown color, take it out of the skillet and let it rest on a plate with paper towels to drain excess oil. Serve with salsa, sour cream or cheese, and enjoy!


I make my pork tacos in an instant pot, but you can certainly switch to a crock pot or use the oven, by adjusting the cook time. In a crock pot, you'll want to brown the meat, return it to the pot, then let it cook on high for 4 hours or low for 6 hours. Once time is up, shred the meat, then add the lime.


To store the meat, allow it to cool, then put the meat in Tupperware and store in the fridge. Often, I will take the meat, and add it to a baking dish, cover with foil then store in the fridge. When I'm ready to reheat the meat, I'll set my oven to broil, remove the foil from the dish and broil the meat for 5 minute increments, stirring after every set, until the meat is hot, juices are flowing, and there's a nice crust forming on the pork.


This makes a great meal prep, meal. To make an easy freezer meal out of this recipe, cut the meat into big chunks and season as you would regularly. Brown the outsides of each piece then put on a plate covered with paper towels to drain excess oil. allow the meat to cool slightly before dividing into airtight, freezer bags. Freeze for up to a month. When you're ready to use, take the meat out of the freezer and defrost. From there the recipe is the same!



44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page