top of page
  • Writer's pictureMazee Palmero

*Almost* My Husbands Favorite French Toast

I say "almost" because my husband is from New York, he's had challah bread French toast, which I can admit, its the absolute BEST way to have French toast. I am always reassured though, that I make the best French toast in Kansas. My husband is such a good sport.


This recipe can accommodate all kinds of bread options. If you choose to use a thicker piece like Texas toast, I suggest adding 1 more egg to the mixture and 1/2 a tablespoon more brown sugar and 1/2 a teaspoon more cinnamon per two pieces of bread.

Oroweat Country White Bread is our family's favorite bread to use for sandwiches and cooking. I used Great Value White bread before my husband opened my eyes to a world of actually good tasting, and good quality bread that doesn't fall apart at the sight of moisture.


I prefer dark brown sugar to light any day of the week. I favor the stronger flavor it brings over light brown sugar. Though light brown sugar of course has its place elsewhere, its not in this recipe. If you must use light brown sugar, I would suggest adding more vanilla and cinnamon.


When I serve this to my kids, I let the piece of toast cool, then use a pizza cutter and cut the pieces to quarters across the width of the bread so they have little French toast dippers for their syrup or yogurt.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page