top of page
  • Writer's pictureMazee Palmero

The Pork Chop

Updated: Sep 13, 2021

I'll be honest, pork chops aren't my favorite meal. I was skeptical to even try cooking a pork chop for my husband but I did, and to my surprise, it was pretty darn good. I often say gravy runs through my veins, and the gravy with this pork chop is the proof of the pudding.


Lets talk chops. My go-to chop is bone-in with plenty of marbling. You can definitely use a chop without the bone, but you'll have to pay close attention to your moisture in the meat. Having the bone in provides the meat with more moisture and flavor.


You'll want to take your chops out of the fridge 30 minutes before you start cooking with them. Take them out of the packaging, pat them dry with a paper towel and season them with salt. This helps the salt penetrate the meat, ultimately giving you more flavor.


*I realize I didn't add the 30 minute wait time in the prep time for this recipe. 10 minute prep time is a great understatement for prep time...LOL*


Now for the gravy: You're in good hands to make a great gravy for your pork chops if you follow this recipe. Its important to use the fond in the pan from frying the pork chops. This creates such a great flavor profile for the gravy. I eyeball the amount of oil I use in the pan to fry my pork chops, and often end up adding more into the pan as they fry, so before melting my butter down in the pan, I take a paper towel to the pan and soak up a little bit of the excess olive oil, doing my best to leave as much of the fond in the pan as I can. this isn't an imperative step, but one I've come to use the more I make this recipe.


Taste the gravy as its thickening, before you add the pork chops back in. Add more seasoning or broth as needed.


My husband is undeniably Irish. Although, if its not proven by his pale skin and red beard, it can be confirmed by his love for meat and potatoes. That being said, I serve pork chops on a bed of seasoned russet mashed potatoes, with butter corn. Rice and green beans have also been acceptable sides for my family, but of course the main attraction is the meat and gravy.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page